IT certification in Information security is an important aspect. It enables professionals to have in-depth knowledge that allows them to recognize the need for highly skilled security experts to prevent ethical hacking, and protect the network of an organisation.
Pentest + is the next best certification
PENTEST + is a intermediate level certification for professionals involved in vulnerability management and penetration testing. It enables you to exploit, identify and report on vulnerabilities in a network. This certification is also useful for IT security beginners who are interested in a career as a penetration tester or ethical hacker. The certification also covers management skills related to cloud, mobile devices and internet. These skills can be used to plan, design scope, discover weaknesses, and recommend strategies for improvement within an organisation.
There are many similar certifications on the market, including GIAC Penetration Tester (Offensive Security Certified Professional), GIAC Web Application Penetration Tester (GIAC Web Application Penetration Tester) and Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH). Each certification is targeted at a specific audience. None of them combine a broad and deep technical and experience-based course at the level PenTest delivers.
PenTest + is aimed more at people who have experience in network security and similar areas. The certification provides advanced security validation.
Trainers, educators, or publishers use open source vulnerability framework and tools to perform penetration testing and vulnerability assessment during the exam.
Professionals in the Pentest have the skills that are essential for penetration testers who work with clients or departments where a test environment must be set up and defined. They also need to permit permissions and comply with legal requirements.
Who can all attend the exam?
This certification is open to professionals who work in Network Operations, Security Analyst, Security Analyst, and IT security engineers.
About the exam
The Pentest + will launch in July 2018. The certification covers the most current penetration testing and vulnerability management to detect network resilience against attacks. Candidates will learn how to modify the assessment framework and present findings. They will also learn best practices for enhancing security and recommending strategic ideas to improve an organization’s security.
These domains include:
Planning and Scope – 15%
Information Gathering and Vulnerability Identification 22%
Attacks and Exploits – 30%
Penetration Testing Tools – 17%
Reporting and Communication – 15%
Assessments are based on multiple choice, performance-based, and hands-on tasks.
Exam Details:
Number of questions: 110
Exam Duration: 165 minutes
Type-Multiple choice and performance based.
What are the Prerequisites? :
It is preferable to have a similar knowledge in network and security, with at least 3 to 4 years of hands-on experience in information safety. But such a pre-requisite is not necessary. It is recommended to have a network certification or security certification.