Coding specialists are skilled at classifying medical data from patient files. They do this frequently in hospitals, but also in a variety other healthcare settings. The CCS credential certifies that a practitioner has demonstrated data quality and accuracy skills, as well as coding proficiency. Certified Coding Specialists, (CCS), create coded data that hospitals or medical providers can use to get reimbursements from insurance companies and government programs like Medicare and Medicaid.
Let’s take a look at the Certified Coding Specialist (CCS) Preparation Guide!
About the Certified Coding Specialist (CCS) (r) Exam
CCS certification is the next step for professionals with experience in coding outpatient and inpatient records. Coding specialists create coding data that hospitals and doctors use to receive reimbursements from insurance companies and government programs such as Medicare and Medicaid. Researchers and public health officials also use this data to analyze patterns and test new interventions.
Target Audience
Candidates must have the following credentials: education, experience, and credentials. Candidates must submit one of the five eligibility claims below:
You must have the RHIA(r), CCS-P (r) or RHIT(r) certifications.
Complete courses in anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, pathophysiology, medical terminology, intermediate/advanced ICD diagnostic/procedural and CPT coding, and reimbursement methodology OR
You must have at least two years of experience in coding and directly applying codes.
You must have the CCA(r), as well as one year of coding experience.
A coding credential from another organization, along with one year of direct coding experience.
Let’s now get to the main point of this article!
How to pass the Certified Coding Specialist Exam (CCS(r).
To help you prepare, we now offer a preparatory manual. Let’s get started with the guide!
Step 1 – Learn about the Exam Syllabus
This is the outline of the exam content –
Domain 1 – Coding Knowledge & Skills (51.9%)
Use the provider’s documentation from the health record to determine the diagnosis and procedure codes.
Procedure and principal/primary diagnosis
Apply coding conventions/guidelines and regulatory guidance
Also, apply CPT(r),/HCPCS modifiables to outpatient procedures
Sequence diagnosis and procedures
Additionally, follow the guidelines for applying present at admission (POA).
Also, edit the address coding editsAssign reimbursement classes
Abstract pertinent data from health recordRecognize major complication/comorbidity (MCC) and complication and co-morbidity (CC)
Domain 2 – Coding Documentation (10.1%)
To assign procedure codes and diagnoses for an encounter, review your health records
Also, review and address discrepancies in your health records
Domain 3 – Provider Questions (8.9%).
Find out if a provider query conforms to the requirements
Also, analyze current documentation to identify potential query opportunities
Domain 4 – Regulatory Compliance (29.1%)
Protect the integrity of your health records
Payer-specific guidelines should be followed
Recognize patient safety indicator (PSI) and hospital-acquired condition (HAC) based on documentation
HIPAA guidelines must be followed
Ensure compliance with AHIMA’s Standards of Ethical Coding. Apply the Uniform Hospital Discharge Data Set.
Step 2: Learn about the exam format
The Certified Coding Specialist (CCS) exam takes four hours and is composed of multiple-choice questions. There are 47 questions total. Passing the exam is required to score 80% or more. The exam will cost you approximately USD 399. The exam is split into two sections: a multiple choice section and a medical scenario (inpatient, outpatient and emergency department). The exam can also be done on a computer.
Step 3 – Learn about the Exam Policies
These are some of the most important points to remember:
Register policy